Stepping Out of My Comfort Zone


How many of you stick to the same old routine? The same color palette for your clothes, the same hairdo you’ve been rocking for like 10+ years, the same style of clothing.. The list goes on! I’m guilty of every one of those things. I never really thought of myself as being afraid of change but clearly I AM! …Until now.

For the last couple of months I have had my mind set on change. I want to better myself. I want to inspire myself so that I might, someday, inspire any or all of you. I know the biggest change would be losing a bit of weight but I’m not ready to tackle that challenge just yet. Currently, I am focusing on my inner beauty. My mindset. I am always finding the good in things because (while I am an optimist) I find myself thinking of the negative aspect of everything lately. For every negative thought that crosses my mind I always try to come up with 2 or 3 positive things. Outweighing the bad always cancels it out, right? I realized that to do that, I subsequently end up toying with my outer beauty. At first glance, it might seem like I am being vein but I promise I AM NOT. What’s really happening is a chain reaction. The focus on my outward appearance is a means to distract myself. Occupying my mind is a huge contributing factor to changing the way my mind works. If I find a hobby, I have something better to do than to think a negative thought. Which also helps with the weight challenge because I am busy doing something productive thus taking away my “boredom” and eating when I’m not really hungry. I have several hobbies. They are fantastic distractions! Some I have mastered. Some I have not.

For a couple of years I used crocheting as a means to keep myself occupied. Mostly in the winter time because it’s so damn cold! I’m convinced I was never supposed to be a Vermonter. I was made for a tropical environment but instead of being put in the womb of a woman in the Virgin Islands was mistakenly put in the womb of a Vermont woman…

Hello Kitty

I mastered hats that’s for sure. I like cartoon characters: Hello Kitty, Lalaloopsy, TMNT, Minnie Mouse, Minions… It was really relaxing TBH!

I have tried to play the guitar… (notice there’s not much else to say here?)

My newest hobby is (quite obviously) blogging. Which I’m hopeful will turn into something more of a vlog in the future. But that’s a whole other realm of uncomfortable.

I have also taken up makeup. Which is so fun! I can choose colors that are completely natural or go bat shit crazy and choose some robin’s egg blue lipstick and some neon colored eye shadow and go nuts. It’s a great way to step out of my comfort zone, though. I can be anyone I want to be. It also gives me an outlet. While working to perfect all the different techniques, I am occupied and completely in the zone. It can keep me busy for hours. Screw up, try again. screw up, try yet again.

MERMAID COLORS!

When I get my mind set on something I am determined to get it done; whether it’s mastering a new hobby, wanting a new car, needing to buy a new colored shirt, or adding to my growing wardrobe of clothes I would never let anyone see me in.

A good example is in something I did last summer to step out of my comfort zone. Trying to wear shorts. I hadn’t worn shorts since I was 12 years old. But I took a dive right into the clothing section at Walmart and bought a pair. It was disappointing at first but after trying on like 1o different styles and colors I managed to find ONE SINGLE pair that I really liked! Which then turned me into a monster. I was set on having a whole summer’s worth of shorts to wear despite my lack of money to spend on them. So I had to rearrange my budget to accommodate my new found obsession (which is a blog for another time).

My point is, I am determined to successfully master change. I don’t want to change who I am, I just want to tweak some things. I want to be my best. I want to stop being lazy and put in some effort. Even if it’s just the tiniest bit. Everyone has to start somewhere and I think I’m off to a great new beginning!

-S

Leave a Reply

