Passion, Where Art Thou?

My entire adult life there has been one thing I have forever been searching for…. my passion. I’m not talking about the emotional kind. I mean my niche. Why can’t I find something that I love doing. That I believe in. I’ve tried different hobbies, jobs, schooling. Nothing seems to appeal to me. I enjoyed doing it all at some point but only for a moment. I feel as though I need to find my “thing”.

As I go through my daily walks of life I see so many friends and acquaintances finding their passion and the only thing I find is frustration. Where is mine?!

The other day a person I look to as a mentor said to a bunch of us “tell me what your dream job is”. I could name a crazy number of things I dream of being able to do. Every one of them is realistically achievable. Some were things I even dreamt of being passionate about. If I’ve touched on it before and it didn’t catch on, is it logical to give any of those things another take and hope it turns out to be the one thing I am passionate about? Or would it be a waste of time and I should just move on and try something totally new and different?

Perhaps I am just lost. How do I find my way? I’ve been told to simply keep trying until I find that one thing that lights my soul on fire. I feel like that’s what I’ve been doing and it’s not working. I know, I know. I’m being impatient. Well, yeah. I’m almost 30 years old and I still can’t see my line of sight. Granted, since having my son (7 years ago) at least now I have a vague idea of the direction I would like to travel in. Time’s getting on! I need to figure it out sooner than later. I don’t want to end up old and stuck here… in the middle of nowhere.

-S

passion

Leave a Reply

